Action / Movie / Sci-Fi

Halo: The Fall of Reach

I like Halo, and I like animated, science fiction films – so why on Earth could this one turn out to be so bad? And it was, trust me.

Halo: The Fall of Reach (2015) has its story following the rise of Commander Chief, the main protagenist in the Halo series. I suppose its purpose was originally to flesh out his back story, and as a novel (which I have not read) it may have achieved this. But in movie form? I really felt the entire plot was terrible.

Not only were all the named characters in this film (who were surprisingly numerous) under-developed, their entire purpose in the plot was to kill or to die. There was no meaningful interaction between any of the characters, even though they all grew up together as children, other than ‘thanks for saving me’ or ‘he/she died for our cause’. It felt like the dramatisation of a first person shooter’s team – which I suppose is rather apt considering. However, a good fps does not a good film make.

The one credit I will give this film, regardless of its terrible dialog, worse plot and unimaginative characters is the artistic style of the film. I liked it, and it held up in the action scenes as well.

So, Halo: The Fall of Reach is a pretty bad film. I don’t think I could really recommend it to a fan of the series that wanted more back-story either – all we learned was that Commander Chief is an angry augmented human with a death wish, and you can learn that much playing five minutes of Halo.

 

Conclusion.png

Leave a Reply

